
“You’re not really a huggy type of person are you?”
I get this a lot. No, I’m not. I didn’t used to have to be – this is my point. I don’t know how all this has crept in and I am NOT happy with it. There are a very select few people I would (and do) hug. My wife can have a hug whenever she requests it and the poor thing has to put up with quite a few she doesn’t want from me as well. I would hug my mum and my Dad also but I know he would decline. I would hug my bromance and song-writing partner John and I would hug my university chums but only if I hadn’t seen them for ages (which is usually the case actually). I am also pleased to say that if I asked any of these people would hug me if I asked for it – but these days I only ask my wife.
But what is this thing now where it is necessary to shake hands with male friends and hug and kiss female friends you only saw a few weeks ago? About ten years ago I guess this kind of idiocy was reserved for night club lads peacocking, but alas, it seems to have permeated my social circles now.
I am NOT a”huggy person” because I never used to have to be, so why should I start? To make my friends happy? Nah, I think they are happy enough mocking me for not being “huggy” and smooching me anyway, for their own gratification and amusement. Don’t go thinking because I don’t really want to hug you that it means I don’t like you. Trust me, if I didn’t like you, I wouldn’t be choosing to meet with you, would I?
Ironically, yes, I would shake hands with people I haven’t met before, because that, as far as I can tell, is the done thing. So long as our meeting is planned, that is. I wouldn’t go proffering handshakes and hugs to random strangers.
No comments:
Post a Comment